Flea market confusion

I have my kiddos alone this weekend. Jones is working another long weekend. I have tried to make it a fun day.

We decided to go to a couple of flea markets just to get out and about. The confusion was that I didn’t know what I was in the market for. I no longer have a baby to shop for. My kids have no needs at present. We don’t know when the call will come and we certainly don’t know who, how many, age or gender. Some how even though we just went to do something and didn’t plan to purchase anything I felt confused as I surveyed each booth. Oh look, a double stroller….for what? Size 6-9 month/ 2t/12 months clothes…for who? I even carried a carseat toy around for twenty minutes before my daughter said “is that for Hiccup?” I put it back. I know it was my mind trying to deal, trying to move on/to hold on or something. We did have a good time though.

We have a busy week ahead of us. Monday we plan to try to squeeze in another visit. Tuesday is our therapy day, just speech this week. That takes all day since we drive an hour to get there, an hour to get back. Wednesday I am having a minor oral surgery, yikes! Thursday we are leaving on a mini vacation to Cincinnati, Ohio. Ikea on Thursday afternoon. Friday we will spend at the aviation museum. Saturday we will spend at the aquarium then head halfway home where we will spend the night and spend Easter with our family at a Simple Church gathering. This is our “we just lost our little Hiccup and we are trying to distract ourselves” vacation that will double as two hs field trips and triple as a fantastic reason to shop Ikea!! I was dreading it right up until now because I have just started feeling semi normal again. I am glad we can do this though. I think it will be good for our family to enjoy each other before we expand our family again.

Leave a Reply

